Receiving Transcending Peace

There hasn’t been a great deal of peace in our household of late. Although, I suppose a in house with two under three (a very spirited toddler, and a newborn), you might not expect there to be much.

In the period of adjusting to our new family dynamic, all of us have settled in well – except for Nathan, our son. The change in circumstances (understandably) impacted him significantly, and he was no longer reacting to discipline the same as usual, and wasn’t as much of his bubbly, confident self.

So, with a bit of observation, prayer, reading, and trial-and-error, we’ve now implemented a different form of discipline – with great success! We’ve done away with much of the yelling, tension and disconnect which was all too prevalent in this already challenging season. But, it wasn’t merely a new discipline technique which sprouted this newfound relief. That was only the by-product.

We Are Shepherds Of A Flock

In my quiet time yesterday I read through Ezekiel 34 – a prophecy against the shepherds of Israel. He condemns them for their selfish and neglectful ways:

“The weak you have not strengthened, the sick you have not healed, the injured you have not bound up, the strayed you have not brought back, the lost you have not sought, and with force and harshness you have ruled them

(v. 4)

and declares His sovereign care and devotion to His people:

“Behold, I, I myself will search for my sheep and seek them out. As a shepherd seeks out his flock when he is among his sheep that have been scattered, so will I seek out my sheep, and I will rescue them.

I myself will be the shepherd of my sheep.”

(v. 11-12, 15b)

Children are God’s gift to parents, and in a sense we are ‘shepherds’ over them – caring for and nurturing them, tending to their needs, providing a home and relationships in which they can flourish and thrive.

In the text, the part about force and harshness hit me particularly hard – I know with Nathan’s ‘adjusting behaviour’ lately (read: exponential disobedience), I’ve found it hard to not become impatient and frustrated, speaking and acting out of that frustration – after all, I’m fallible and sinful, just as he is.

But then I read God’s promises, remembering that although I am an imperfect shepherd over my children, God is perfect – the Almighty shepherd of both our soulsAnd it is His devotion, His righteousness, upon which I seek to build a parenthood which imitates the way He loves and shepherds me.

And in a remarkably astounding (although not at all surprising) gift of His grace, I find myself with a newfound peace – permeating all of my being, striking down my fighting will, and cooling the temper which flares too easily. With less self-trust and more sight of God and His perfection, by the Holy Spirit’s power and leading I am enabled to give my son the love God gives to me. It is wonderful, it is selfless, and it is full of compassion, laughter and joy. Praise be to God!

Let your gentleness be evident to all; The Lord is near. 

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

(Phil. 4:5-7)

Leave a Reply

