1 Egg Brownie Recipe

So yesterday I found myself, oddly enough, with just one egg.

We don’t really eat egg in this house, so I decided to put it to good use and tried to find a 1-egg brownie recipe. I couldn’t find one – so I found an almost-1-egg brownie recipe, and adapted it.

Day. MADE. It’s so good, we had it for dessert last night (and let me tell you, if you want to impress your parents-in-law, this is the way to do it!) and it was amaaaaayyyyzzzzing.

So I thought I’d share the recipe! Here it is:

Preheat your oven to 160 degrees C (for a fan forced oven – 180 if not). Grease a 20cm brownie pan with butter and line with baking paper.

You will need:

60 grams dark chocolate,1/2 cup of butter, 1 cup SR flour (OR 1 cup of plain flour, 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda), 1/2 cup of cocoa, pinch of salt, 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of milk, 1 tsp vanilla essence, and 1 egg.

1. Melt together 60grams of dark chocolate and 1/2 cup of butter in a saucepan on low heat. Once it’s melted, take it off the heat and allow it to cool.

2. While that’s melting/cooling, sift together 1 cup of SR flour (OR 1 cup plain flour, 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda), 1/2 cup of cocoa, and a pinch of salt.

3. In the saucepan, add in 1 cup of sugar (I recommend caster sugar), 1/4 cup of milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence, and 1 egg. Mix it together.

4. Add the contents of the saucepan to the dry mixture, and mix together until combined. Put it in the pan, and pop it in the oven for:

15 minutes if you love your brownies chewy and gooey and oh-so-yummy (this is what I did).

18-20 minutes if you want them soft in the middle and crunchier on the outside.

20-25 minutes if you like them real crunchy.

Have fun baking! 🙂

16 thoughts on “1 Egg Brownie Recipe

  1. Amazing!!!I had promised to take brownies to my sister in law ans at the last minute the horror: there is only one egg in the fridge and no time to waste! So I googled a recipe for one egg and this was the most appealing one. So I took a shot, the result was amazing!! I added as few spoons of creamy peanut butter just for kicks. It turn out better than my regular recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey thank you for posting this. It’s my new official recipe…. Found this the other day when I was craving brownies and realised I only had 1 egg… So thank you very much 🙂

      Like

  2. My girls made this for Father’s Day and it was amazing. Same situation, we had one egg and no time to run to the store. They found this recipe on Google and I was totally impressed with the outcome. It was their first time ever attempting to bake a brownie…and it was even better than my recipe. Thanks so much and this recipe is definitely a keeper

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amazing, same situation! We wanted brownies, could only find one egg, Googled “brownies with 1 egg”, found your recipe and these turned out great. First ever time my daughter has cooked brownies from a recipe and she’s decided this is so much more fun than a packet mix. Saved our afternoon, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Similar to a lot of people commenting, I once only had one egg and wanted to make brownies. Now this is my go-to recipe. All my friends know me as the person who makes great brownies, and I’ve shared the recipe not only with local friends, but with new friends while I was on exchange in Germany. Thanks for this perfect way to win people over!

    Like

Leave a Reply

