Remember, and rejoice

 

It’s starting.

The assessment list is piling up. Projects are commencing at work. Classes are running over time. Kids have started school. Work wants more shifts from you. Sales are picking up. There’s less time for friends and family; for the things that really matter.

For most of us, this is the time of year when busyness really peaks – university and school have started, and the year is well underway.

It can be easy to be overwhelmed – to look at the lessons or shifts or kids in front of you, knowing that so much is required of you at this time – and want to run and hide. I should know, since my son has this week doubled the amount he eats thanks to a 6-week growth spurt. It’s a necessary but exhausting endeavour.

But as easy as it might be to just put in the least amount of effort necessary, or to indulge ourselves with a little distraction through entertainment and procrastination (or, in my case, procrasti-baking delicious cookie dough), let’s instead be encouraged in busy times; this is taken from Jonah’s prayer (Jonah 2:2-9), and really encouraged me this week:

“In my distress I called to the Lord, and He answered me.

From the depths of the grave I called for help,

and you listened to my cry.

I remembered you, Lord.

Those who cling to worthless idols, forfeit the grace that could be theirs.

Salvation comes from the Lord.”

We would do well to remember the Lord, for He is where our help comes from (Psalm 121:2). He may deliver us completely from our current troubles and trials – but even if He doesn’t right now, true deliverance comes to every Christian at the end of their life, through salvation in Christ – and this is our great hope! If we, starting today, trained ourselves to look to Christ and His glorious magnificence, instead of to ourselves or the things of this world – what could God do in our hearts? What wonderful fruit could we bear in our life? Would we not know true strength, unaffected by the snares and passing troubles of the world? And would we not begin a journey to knowing true joy – the delight of the Lord?

“Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in Him, and He helps me.

My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise Him.

Take delight in the Lord!”

(Nehemiah 8:10, Psalm 28:7, 37:4).

Leave a Reply

