Dear Son

DinosaurToy

I wanted to make you a dinosaur today. So I did. I hope you like it, and I hope you inherit my sense of spontaneity.

I had a lot of thoughts run through my head as I whipped this little guy together. And all of them centered on you – the similarities between sewing and parenting, and what kind of man you might grow up to be.

1. You’ll make mistakes. Even big ones.

It’s inevitable. And I don’t mean sins – but you’ll do those too. I mean the choices, words and actions you take that turn out to have disappointing consequences. This is usually because of a lack of experience, knowledge, wisdom, hindsight, and/or motivation. An example from today’s project – the dinosaur pictured above was supposed to have two very different sides (since I used 2 different coloured fabrics). One fabric has dinosaurs on it (as you can see in the photo), and the other side is yellow with white dots. Only trouble is, I measured out and began sewing the dinosaur with both fabrics facing up… so that the latter side has it’s colourless back facing in. Oh well. Mistakes happen – so don’t be surprised or dismayed when they do. But do your best to grow in wisdom and grace from each instance.

2. Don’t mind the dodgy stitching.

In this fallen world, broken by sin, we all live in an imperfect body. Many of us have something (or things) in particular that we’d love to change, and would if we could. There may be something about your outside that disappoints you (or, if you’re like your father, maybe not) but if there is, don’t pay any mind to it. I’ve lost count of the amount of hours I have spent worried about how I look, and how my appearance might affect how others think of me or treat me. The truth is, people who don’t matter are the ones who will treat you according to what they see. But the important people will treat you according to your heart. I can’t stress this enough. I’ve even run mini-experiments to see if there’s a difference in how my friends treat me between when I’m all dolled up to when I’m in sweats and no makeup. Absolutely no difference!

As I carried on my 5th-grade-rate stitching along the edge of the dinosaur, I had a worry strum through my mind: “will he mind that these stitches are on the outside, and totally uneven and messy?”.

This toy is for a newborn baby. It’s purpose is to comfort and entertain you. How it looks won’t actually affect you that much. In fact, majority of your time as a newborn will be spent sleeping – you couldn’t care less what fancy colours and designs are in the furnishings and toys I make you. It’s a toy. You’re happy (you better be). Ghee wiz. As if there were a better metaphor for how our appearance has nothing to do with our purpose.

In the same way, how you look has nothing to do with the purpose God has for you. And He said to the prophet Samuel,

“The LORD does not look at the things people look at.

People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

3. You’re really awesome. And I’ll always love you.

Okay, so I may not be the kind of lady that gushes with “gooey lovey doveyness” – but on the inside of my tough exterior I’m actually quite tender. I can’t believe how much I love you already, and how awesome I think you are – even though I’ve never met you. I have no idea what you’ll look like (but I’m sure you’ll be a pretty cute fat baby), what sort of person you are, or what adventures God has in store for you. I didn’t even know I could love someone this much – goodness, what will I be like when I actually meet you? Sorry in advance if I’m a super-doting mum, I’ll try my best to be as rational as possible (don’t hold me to that), but I’m afraid embarrassing you in front of your friends is inevitable. And I’m looking forward to that. You’ve been warned.

You’ve only got another 6-9 weeks left before you make your grand entrance (or before I get impatient and eat a load of curry to get you out). Either way, I’m extremely eager to meet you, hold you, and stare longingly into your eyes as I wonder about all the weird and wonderful things you’ll get up to in life, the sort of man you’ll one day be and the kind of woman raising you and loving you will make me.

Children are a heritage from the Lord,
    offspring a reward from him.
 Like arrows in the hands of a warrior
    are children born in one’s youth.

Psalm 127:3-4

Leave a Reply

